The Tor Guides

Not Just Kids

In Okategoriserade on 21 April, 2011 at 14:21

Jesus died for somebody’s sins but not mine
Meltin’ in a pot of thieves
Wild card up my sleeve
Thick heart of stone
My sins my own
They belong to me, me

I just finished reading Patti Smith´s marvelous biography Just Kids, a book that should find its way to any true pop nerd. I was never much of a fan of hers but still remember how we in the old world were almost drowned the new wave bands of Max´s Kansas City´s and CBGB´s such as Television, Ramones and Blondie, a band who didn´t have much good to say about our beloved Dame Patti.

I only listened a slight bit to Patti´s debut album Horses from 1975 but concluded that it wasn´t really my cup of tea. Like all others I was thrilled, though, to listen to Because the Night some years later on – but always considered that a Bruce Springsteen song more than a true collaboration between the Boss and Patti. No I never really understood the quality within Patti – that is, until now!

Anyone interested in the New York art scene of the 60s and 70s will have a field day reading Just Kids. The book is the result of a promise she made to her near friend and sometime lover, photographer Robert Mapplethorpe, who died way too early in 1989. The book describes their joint journey as artists and humans and on their way we meet such nobilities as Warhol, Ginsberg and Burroughs, as well as Janis Joplin (who Patti wrote a song for!) and Jimi Hendrix. The center of the story is life on the legendary Chelsea Hotel.

By the way, did you know she was pals with Todd Rundgren and oversaw some of the recordings of the Band´s famous Stage Fright? I didn´t.

So, if you haven´t already read this book, Santa Claus has arrived early this year!

Below you´ll see a clip of Patti in good form presenting Gloria live at German TV´s classic Rockpalast, the clip is from 1979.

tp

Ps. I have now added a Spotify playlist with the remastered version of Horses and will most definitely give it a new, fair chance – that´s the least I can do after all the joy her book brought me!


Leave a Reply

