The Tor Guides

Don´t believe a word!

In Classic rock, Okategoriserade on 24 May, 2011 at 09:33

Don’t believe me if I tell you
Not a word of this is true
Don’t believe me if I tell you
Especially if I tell you that I’m in love with you

Just back from my first ever visit to the emerald island of Ireland, it seems like a good opportunity to give my regards to one of the best rock bands ever.

Currently there is a Phil Lynott exhibition in Dublin and his mother Philomena has just released a revised version of her 1995 biography on her son, My Boy – The Philip Lynott Story. So Philo and his band is still as alive as ever before.

After a few albums with somewhat disappointing sales, the band eventually found it´s now classic line-up with Lynott on bass and old school friend Brian Downey on drums and Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson on two howling Gibson Les Paul guitars.

Phil Lynott was an odd character for a rocker, having released two books of poems and an excellent ear for catchy songs. he was also embraced by the new punk rock community, releasing a christmas single with Paul Cook and Steve Jones of Sex Pistols fame as the Greedy Bastards.

I picked up on the band by the time Johnny the Fox was released in 1976 and then followed it till the very end.

Among the many favourites, this is maybe the best – as simple but still compelling song, an I´m Not In Love song with a rock twist, maybe – Don´t Believe A Word, maybe a fitting tribute on the old protest singer Bob Dylan´s birthday as well?

tp


Leave a Reply

